Consumer & Industry Programs

Identity Recovery - NXG NICE Program


FCRA End User Certification Test

Under the federal FCRA (Title VI of the Consumer Credit Protection Act) and various state laws dealing with consumer reporting, there are a number of procedures and activities required of consumer reporting agencies and users of their information. In general, consumer reporting agencies are required to utilize reasonable procedures to assure maximum possible accuracy of the information which they collect, maintain and report and only report such information when a user certifies that it has a "permissible purpose" for utilizing such information, i.e., when a consumer has applied for credit, employment, insurance or when a user has a legitimate business transaction involving the consumer.

The key topics tested to complete the certification are:

  • Permissible Purposes of Reports

  • Information Requirements

  • Disclosures to Consumers

  • Disputes

  • Need to Know Information

  • GLB Requirements

  • Requirements of the National Credit Repositories

Take the End User Test